Initialize (and performing functions once upon launch)

2 posts   Feedicon  
Replies: 1 - Last Post: February 07, 2010 16:24
by: Logan Barnett
showing 1 - 2 of 2

Posted: February 06, 2010 18:04 by DRobinson
First off I'm going to mention I'm extremely new to Ruby (/JRuby) , monkeybars, and MVC architectures in general. In fact I'm just a student that thought it would be fun to learn Ruby for a project rather than be like just about everyone else using Java. And I’m certainly glad I did; I’ve since fallen in love with Ruby. I've been able to figure out just about everything I've needed to know so far (from monkeybars interactions with jcomboboxes, jlists, etc. to some nice ruby ways of file manipulation and downloading files via http). Basically what I'm trying to say is if I seem clueless or inept, I probably am just that.

The one thing I'm having trouble doing is getting something to run just once when the program is launched. At first it seemed like it would be simply a matter of putting the function call in the model's def initialize, but this seems to be called every time I use update_model in the controller (which I need to do to get text inputs or combobox changes, etc. Unless there's a better way to do that which i would also be interested in).

I've tried making an "initialized" variable, checking if it's nil, then after the function making it =true. This didn't work, it still gets itself into the if statement without fail (I checked using puts before and after the function, displayed nil and true respectively but I guess it doesn't stick upon updates). Or even just do the few things I need to do in main.rb, even if I feel there's probably a better solution.